Xiang Jing

 

Xiang Jing was born in Beijing in 1968 and graduated from the faculty of sculpture, Central Academy of Fine Arts in 1995. She taught at the Sculpture Studio of the Fine Arts College, Shanghai Normal University from 1999 to 2007. Xiang now works and lives in Beijing.

Xiang’s artwork reveals a sense of insecurity through which the misty nature of the modern human character and life itself are accentuated and reified. Xiang Jing seeks after the existential truth of life through her continued investigation of “internality” in her work. Though Xiang Jing has been viewed as a “feminist” artist, she is perhaps more accurately described as an artist with a woman’s viewpoint who is conscious of the female perspective.

Xiang Jing’s methodology is problem-oriented; although the realist sculpting language in which Xiang’s works are conducted has been marginalized as of today, she has made idiosyncratic, powerful, and influential modernistic experiments within that artistic language framework by giving each of her sculptures individual appearance and character, hand-painting her sculpture, and choosing fiberglass as her principle material. These innovative efforts engender an impression of her work that is “representational and realist on the exterior, but highly contemplative and inquisitive in the internality of human nature”. Xiang Jing and her work are not taken lightly in any serious discussion on academic topics such as “modernity vs. traditional medium”, “the female identity and the universal human nature”, “to observe and to be observed”, or “internal desire”.

In four successive phases of solo exhibitions, “Mirror Image” (1999-2002), “Keep in Silence” (2003-2005), “Naked Beyond Skin” (2006-2008), “Will Things Ever Get Better?” (2009-2011), Xiang Jing is highly reflective of issues related to identity, psychological state, and body. Some of her most significant works include Bang! (2002), Your Body (2005), The Open (2006), Are A Hundred Playing You? Or Only One? (2007), Mortals-Endless Tower (2011), Otherworld-Will Things Ever Get Better? (2011), Otherworld-The Silver Age (2011). In the first few of these phases, the “Virgin Series” and the “Body Series” (works in the “Keep in Silence” phase) demonstrate the gradual maturation of Xiang’s artistic language. This process is

向京

 

1968年生於北京,1995年畢業於中央美術學院雕塑系。1999-2007年任上海師範大學美術學院雕塑工作室教師。現工作、生活於北京。

與其說向京是個“女性主義”藝術家,不如說她是個帶有女性視角和女性意識的藝術家,但這都不是重點,她作品裡透露出的不安感,是對於現代性下人性的迷霧和對於生存本身的不斷確認——“內在性”是她所企圖挖掘的生存真相。問題先行是向京的工作方法,但她在業已被邊緣化的寫實雕塑語言裡,在個人化塑造、雕塑著色、玻璃鋼材料的使用這些語言建構上,都做出非常獨特而影響深遠的當代性實驗,開創出一種“外在看來是具象的現實主義,實則深度探討內在的精神價值”的作品面貌,在當代藝術景觀裡構成一種邊緣但是獨樹一幟的風格。在談及“當代性與傳統媒介”、“女性身份與普遍人性”、“觀看與被看”、“內在欲望”等學術命題時,向京及其創作是不可回避的個案。

在“鏡像”(1999-2002)“保持沉默”(2003-2005)“全裸”(2006-2008)以及“這個世界會好嗎?”(2009-2011)這四個階段性的個展系列裡,向京一直在身份、心理情境、身體這些線索上進行思考。一些重要的個人作品如《砰!》(2002)、《你的身體》(2005)、《敞開者》(2006)和《一百個人演奏你?還是一個人?》(2007)《無限柱》(2011)、《這個世界會好嗎?》(2011)、《白銀時代》(2011)等,前期通過藝術家的幾個不同創作階段“處女系列”、“身體系列”等宣告了這種語言的日臻成熟,包括對雕塑語言的實驗,以及在創作、布展時用空間和鏡像等多重語言,以女性身體為載體探討超越“性別”、對於存在本質、對於個體和世界關係等命題。在“這個世界會好嗎?”系列裡嘗試用雜技和動物兩個系列隱喻人性“處境”的話題,延續了向京對內在性問題的追索。

向京曾在眾多機構舉辦個展,包括臺北當代藝術館(2013年),北京今日美術館(2012年),北京當代唐人藝術中心(2008 年)及上海美術館(2006年)。向京的作品在世界各地廣泛展出,包括美國、英國、德國、日本、挪威、義大利、西班牙、荷蘭、奧地利等。她的作品被重要國際機構收藏,包括北京中央美術學院、北京今日美術館、上海美術館、香港M+博物館、上海龍美術館和美國威斯康辛州麥迪森市的Chazen藝術博物館(Chazen Museum of Art)。向京於2012年榮獲“馬爹利非凡藝術人物”桂冠。

0.0458s